Be inspired by our UK bed & breakfasts, guesthouses, and hotels
£
Left Right

The Sundale is situated in a prime location with access within a few minutes to all the favourite holiday amenities and town centre. Sample Paignton Harbour with its fishing and boat trips/ hire boats or you can visit the pier with all the... Read more

Read Reviews

Rooms

Reviews

The Sundale

(54 Guest Reviews)

Guest Ratings

  • 22
  • 26
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0

Review Summary

  • Rooms 3.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Friendliness 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 3.9
  • Service 4.6
  • Location 4.8

Review Overall Rating

  • 5.0
  • 4.0
  • 3.0
  • 2.0
  • 1.0
  • 4.3
darren Alone Stayed: May 15

stopped before welcoming

nice Read more

Likes?
local to trains centre
Dislikes?
weather shower could do with new curtain
4
CARIANNE Young couple Stayed: Feb 15

Valentine weekend

Very nice owner and great location very peaceful, nice supply of hot chocolate in the room with the usual tea and coffee. The decor is a little dated and in need of updating and some maintenance but not a big issue. The only issue was the bed was poor as springs stuck in our backs all night meaning didn't get a good night's sleep. Read more

Likes?
The owner was friendly, good location and good price, nice breakfast and peaceful.
Dislikes?
Only the uncomfortable bed
4
Alison Mature couple Stayed: Oct 14

Perfect one night stay

We stayed for just 1 night room was comfortable and breakfast was nice Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your very kind comments

Likes?
We liked the fact that we were showed around the place and then left alone .
But knew if we did need anything we only had to ask
Dislikes?
No
5
Judith Mature couple Stayed: Sep 14

welcoming

Pauline was very friendly & we was made to feel very welcome, esp. our little dog! & the Sundale is in a very good position to visit all the attractions. Read more

Likes?
It was good that we could come & go any time we wanted & The Sundale is in such a good position of Paignton, easy to walk to Preston & Goodrington & the town etc.
Dislikes?
None
4
John Alone Stayed: Jul 14

Comfortable and friendly

Free to come and go all day as I pleased. Comfortable bed, freeview TV and tea/coffee/chocolate sachets available in rooms. No shower in the room but immediately adjacent. That didn't bother me at all as I had a basin and a toilet (essential as far as I'm concerned). Clean towels provided daily. Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we hope to see you back again.

Likes?
Pets welcome and a very nice dog with on pair staying there. She knew she wasn't allowed in the dining room!
An early breakfast offered and accepted on my last day so no rush to get my train home.
Dislikes?
Can't think of anything.
5
Kevin Mature couple Stayed: Jun 14

Fantastic low price in an amazing location and almost home-like atmosphere.

4 nights in an double en-suite room at great price per night and a little extra per night for breakfast included. Read more

Likes?
Price incredible. Location perfect. Staff inviting, friendly, helpful. Walking distances: 5mins- train station. 2mins- town centre (train station is far side of it). 2mins- sea front. Never needed car
Dislikes?
The water pressure in the shower was lacking (we were on the top floor) but a power shower to use outside the room so it was a very minor issue. We had to return home was the biggest one of all.
5
Kevin Alone Stayed: Jun 14

Value for money

Very friendly and very helpful, everything I wanted from my stay couldn't ask for more. Read more

Likes?
Everything, very friendly helpful people.
Dislikes?
Only problem I did have was the shower I couldn't adjust the shower head. But it's not really anything to complain about
5
Angie Mature couple Stayed: Nov 13

I recommend for an affordable and friendly stay.

We paid for a double room only (no breakfast) and were given an en-suite, a good size room. The owner was very friendly and we were provided with a heater in case the room became too cold for us.
The room was very clean and surroundings quiet, and we had a good night's sleep. Read more

Response

Thank you for your kind comments

Likes?
Friendly and helpful host, all a guest's needs are met.
Dislikes?
If we'd brought the car we'd have probably had a problem parking,but came by train and it's only a few minutes walk away - if we stayed again we'd have to take the train,but that's the only negative.
4
William Alone Stayed: Nov 13

It provided all I needed, with no unwanted extras to pay for, and I felt welcome all through.

I arrived in early afternoon after a struggle with navigation round the maze of streets (even with sat nav, which balked at dense townscape & roadworks; I should have studied a printed street map first). I was able to check in before the estimated time, with no complaint from the proprietor. There was only time for a bit of exploring, and the business visit had to follow departure; but for that I could have enjoyed a longer visit. "You know where we are" said the proprietor; I may be back. Read more

Likes?
The room was very quiet and restful, and with room & front keys issued I was able to come and go as I pleased. I felt I had benefited more from the break than I had expected.
Dislikes?
Offsite parking was a bit unpredictable at certain times, but proprietor's advice (via advance phone call) helped.
4
Malcolm Mature couple Stayed: Sep 13

Very Good

Had a one night stay here which was a good experience. We stayed in a Travel Lodge previously at twice the cost a few minutes away and it double the cost of this homely b/b. My partner was impressed with the little extras that was available that you don't in other places ie TL. Nothing fancy but well worth the price. Read more

Likes?
Easy and comfortable
Dislikes?
None
4
Stephanie Alone Stayed: Sep 13

Hostess very friendly and place is very welcoming

My stay was very nice and quiet the hostess is very friendly and was happy to help with anything. Spoke nicely to the younger guests as a 18month old was there when I was there and she memorised what the child would like to eat for breakfast. Read more

Likes?
Room was nice big clean, hostess was nice and friendly, b&b in a nice quiet spot but close to coast and shops and breakfast was good, towels and shower things on bed waiting for you
Dislikes?
Nothing
5
fiona Family with older children Stayed: Jul 13

says what it does on the tin

A room with a keetle coffee ect plus bed what we wanted cheap clean near beach. Read more

Likes?
We could come and go as we pleased given own door key
Dislikes?
seaguls not owners fault!
4
Helen Mature couple Stayed: Apr 13

A breakaway

A short break away Read more

Likes?
It was a very frendly b&b
Dislikes?
None
4
Hayley Mature couple Stayed: Mar 13

Lovely place to stay

We had come to Paignton a day early for our weeks stay and decided to find a B and B for the first night Read more

Likes?
The Sundale was lovely the owners very friendly, the rooms very clean and comfortable and warm ( weather very cold for the time of year). The breakfast was very tasty all in all a really delightful pl
Dislikes?
None
5
Inayat Family with young children Stayed: Mar 13

Warm well come, great hospitility, quite environment, clean etc etc

Excellent Read more

Likes?
Quite, nice, great place, excellent customer service etc etc
Dislikes?
please use white colour towels and not the one which is already in use
5
Victoria Young couple Stayed: Mar 13

Everyone was friendly and we had a good nights stay.

Everything was good. We could come and go as we pleased and it was only a few minutes walk from the seaside and we slept really well. Read more

Likes?
stated above.
Dislikes?
The bathroom was falling apart (the towel holder and the systern of the loo)
4
sue Alone Stayed: Feb 13

peaceful

easy going comfortable nice and warm. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review, and your kind comments. We have checked your booking and you booked for room only, you could of booked in for bed and breakfast as the online booking system allows you too. We offer both room only and bed and breakfast, your booking clearly stated that you wanted room only no meals included, if you had changed your mind before or during your stay that you wanted to change to bed and breakfast you only had to ask and we would of happily changed you to bed and breakfast

Likes?
liked the sitting room with lot of magazines and tourist info
Dislikes?
might have liked the option of breakfast
4
david Mature couple Stayed: Feb 13

ideal for what we wanted

Stayed on a room only basis. No charge for our dog, considered it excellent value
Allowed come and go as pleased. Good range of hot drinks oin bedroom. Basic room but exactly what we looked for, great value for price. Read more

Likes?
Good central location. and particularly impressed with no charge for our dog. Basic room which completely suited our needs, as we spend most of our time outdoors.
Dislikes?
No, just what we look for.
4
christoper Alone Stayed: Feb 13

peaceful house

awsome will be back Read more

Likes?
freindly and nice and quite
Dislikes?
no it was great
5
John Alone Stayed: Jan 13

Friendly, considerate, homely, perfect

relaxing,enjoyable Read more

Likes?
location, friendly landlady, did my washing. perfect
Dislikes?
not long enough
5
Jodie Young couple Stayed: Dec 12

Friendly but could be a lot better

Me and my other half stayed for one night and found the bed really comfortable, there was a generous amount of tea, coffee, milk and sugar. We even got hot chocolate! But the room it's self was freezing, there was no mirror other than a tiny one in the bathroom that I was too small to see in and the shower was dreadful, there was more power in the flush of the toilet. This made it almost impossible to feel washed. But it was a friendly place. Read more

Likes?
That it was close to the town and the bed was amazing
Dislikes?
The shower. And having no mirror.
4
jeffrey Alone Stayed: Dec 12

Needed somewhere around last minute

3 nights to come and go as I pleased and get up when I wanted hence no breakfast. Read more

Likes?
Flexibility
Dislikes?
None
4
Barry Alone Stayed: Sep 12

Great value

Stayed for 2 nights, booked single room but was upgraded to ensuite double room which was nice. Quiet location fairly near to pier. Read more

Likes?
Good value and can book room only which suited me as I went out early morning. Friendly staff.
Dislikes?
Bed was a bit hard for me. Could not turn the radiator off so heating was to much for me.
4
Sarah Young couple Stayed: Sep 12

Great B&B Excellent Location.

Very Friendly Welcoming, Good Breakfast, Lovely Room And really comfortable bed. Read more

Likes?
Great location, Great Room.
Dislikes?
None
5
Stephen Mature couple Stayed: Sep 12

Annual Holiday 2012

Room and location upto our Expectaions Read more

Likes?
Stress free
Dislikes?
No
5
Tamar Young couple Stayed: Aug 12

Great value, and overall excellent in regards to the friendliness of the owner,

I used to live there however it was a first for my partner who is french. He found the scenary beautiful and was pleasently surprised by the politness. Read more

Likes?
The owner is extremely friendly, the room was cleaned everyday with new towels. She listens and is attentive to any remarks. A huge thumbs up!
Dislikes?
None
5
Geoff Mature couple Stayed: May 12

perfect location

Attending Motorcycle event Read more

Response

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again next year

Likes?
the ownners were very flexible and understanding as we had a bike problem when we needed to leave, they afforded us space to leave our equipment after we chaecked out
Dislikes?
None
5
Nick Young couple Stayed: Apr 12

Great value and a pleasant stay

Good. Read more

Likes?
It was all good.
Dislikes?
None
4
Robyn Young couple Stayed: Apr 12

Really friendly accomodation

We didn't have the breakfast, but when we did speak to the staff they were lovely and very welcoming. The room was well cleaned and furnished and we had an excellent stay over the Easter weekend. The location is brilliant and though there aren't sea views it is only a minutes walk from the sea front. Read more

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Likes?
The hotel was very flexible and a pleasant environment to stay in.
Dislikes?
None
5
Anna Young couple Stayed: Mar 12

Good budget B&B close to town & beach

We stayed the Friday night in room 11 which I don't think was the room I chose on the website. This room was very basic and needed redecorating and the bed was really uncorftable so we didn't sleep well, the bathroom door also scraped on the carpet. We asked the owner if we could change rooms the next day and she was very helpful and moved us 2 room 2 which was much better. Would stay there again but not in room 11, the owner was vey friendly & it was in a good location. Read more

Likes?
Friendly owner, let us change rooms when we asked. Good location & quite cheap.
Dislikes?
Room 11 the bed was not very comfortable but we did report this to the owner and she let us move rooms.
3
tony Adult(s) Stayed: Mar 12

top marks cheap clean tidy friendly close to everything. let you stay on the last day till afternoon

Perfect will go back again many times Read more

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments

Likes?
Everything no negatives at all.
Dislikes?
The heating was on timer and sometimes a bit hot on a warm day in the winter. But we just opened the window and that solved the problom.
5
Lexi Alone Stayed: Mar 12

Thoughtful landlady

I booked the single room and was given a very pleasant triple room Read more

Likes?
Wi-fi was free & worked well
The room was well stocked with just about everything you could ever want
Dislikes?
The matress was ok but not the best ever.
Television was a bit small for the size of the room
4
NIGEL Alone Stayed: Nov 11

Value without compromise

Friendly welcome. Room upgraded. More than adequate Read more

Likes?
Superb value
Dislikes?
No
5
Valerie Mature couple Stayed: Nov 11

Warm and comfortable.

We stayed one night after attending a family wedding. We just wanted somewhere to sleep. Read more

Likes?
It was cheap, clean, warm and comfortable. The water was hot and the shower and TV worked. There was plenty of tea, coffee and chocolate powder for drinks. There was no traffic noise at all.
Dislikes?
The wardrobe and cupboards were basic but this did not detract from the comfort at all.
4
neil Mature couple Stayed: Oct 11

nice cosy stay on a budget

peaceful Read more

Likes?
freindly family home.
Dislikes?
no
4
IAN Mature couple Stayed: Oct 11

Disappointing Stay

We stayed for one night as the Hotel was near to the venue we were going to.
Unfortunately the room (room 2) was in a very poor state,the bathroom door kept sticking very badly and the bed was very noisy and very uncomfortable.The room needs an overhaul. Read more

Response

Thank you for your comment, we take your ponts on board the room is the next room to be decorated. Regarding your comment about the bathroom door, if you had of told us of the problem while you were here instead of after you left, we could have fixed the problem there and then, if we are not told of any problems then we do not know.

Likes?
The shower was adequate and the tea / coffee provisions were adequate.
Dislikes?
None
2
David Mature couple Stayed: Oct 11

Friendly, clean, value accommodation

Greeted with a smile and given a very doggy friendly welcome. Suited our needs as a stop over point on our way home. Read more

Likes?
Lovely comfortable lounge. Treated with courtesy. Nothing was be too difficult. Lots of extras, hair dryer, toiletries, extra tea making materials. Clean and comfortable.
Dislikes?
This was our fault - I should have checked before booking - 34 steps to bedroom. Not really suitable for physically disabled people.
5
Jenny Alone Stayed: Oct 11

A value for money guest house.

Impulse short break. Read more

Likes?
The fresh towel daily service and the abundance of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk and sugar. The landlady was very pleasant and helpful.
Dislikes?
The en suite needed a deep clean although, I appreciate it's the end of the season, the shower and tiles were not as clean as they should be.
3
Linda Mature couple Stayed: Sep 11

Overnight stop to break journey.

Hotel convenient for town centre although off road parking quite limited. We had arrived quite early and had we realised the parking situation, may have gone straight there to park instead of parking in town until check-in, because when we did arrive it was hard to find a space as people working in Paignton use the spaces too. Otherwise very good apart from some town centre noise as it was a Friday night. Very friendly and approachable proprietor. Read more

Likes?
Handy for beach and town centre and good price for a seaside b and b with breakfast included.
Dislikes?
Dogs allowed on the chairs in the communal lounge area.
4
Sarah Young couple Stayed: Sep 11

Great Location and Value for Money

My partner and I stayed at the Sundale for one night as we wanted to go to the Zoo and spend sometime down at the seafront. The location of the hotel couldn't have been any better. It was close to everything that we wanted (train station, bus stop, seafront, town) never more than a ten minute walk away. The hotel itself was lovely, and the staff were great as well as the breakfast in the morning, yummy! She even gave us some discount vouchers for the zoo and showed us where the bus stop was. Read more

Likes?
The helpfulness of the staff, location of the hotel itslef and the breakfast.
Dislikes?
None
5
Stephen Mature couple Stayed: Sep 11

The Sundale One Off The Jewlels of Devon.

Hotel pleasant and friendly,facilities more than adequate. Food more than adequate and of just the right portions, with offer of more if required. Read more

Likes?
The location was ideal, management was friendly and helpful. All the amenaties were clean and replenished daily,plenty of local infomation about what you can do and see.
Dislikes?
There was nothing we did not like at all.
5
Janet Mature couple Stayed: Sep 11

Friendly welcome

The location of this bed and breakfast is vey good, sited between the railway station and the sea. We were given a very warm welcome (getting rarer these days!) and will certainly return for a short break. Read more

Likes?
A very good breakfast, lots of tea, milk, coffee, hot chocolate in the room for use throughout the day - abslutely no restrictions of use of room.
Dislikes?
No
5
stephen Mature couple Stayed: Jul 11

stress free

a good no nonsense b&b, which was excellent value for money. Read more

Likes?
its location
Dislikes?
need to improve and update the showers
4
Lisa Mature couple Stayed: Jul 11

Needed a bed - got a bed.

Contact with the owners was great, with good advice about parking. Just wanted a space to share with partner for evening without kids around :O)

Wanted something that was very economical and allowed just the one nights stay - which many in the area didn't at this time of year.

If you don't need luxury and just somewhere to sleep for the night then this offered good value for money - we opted for no breakfast as there are plenty of places nearby to eat. Read more

Likes?
The location was great... but I knew the area well anyway so was aware that it was a great location for the Paignton amenities. Was clean, and had all we needed, even if the decor is very tired.
Dislikes?
Could do with a little money spending on the decor, however it did add charm in a funny and odd way. The seagulls were rather annoying - but the hotel couldn't possibly do anything about that (smile)
3
Michael Alone Stayed: Jun 11

Very Good

Good location and a clean, friendly place to stay. Read more

Likes?
hotels booking web site
Dislikes?
no
5
simon Alone Stayed: Jun 11

cool

marathon run Read more

Likes?
tv
Dislikes?
new bed
3
chris Mature couple Stayed: Jun 11

good value

stayed for 3 nights. room a bit tired but clean. owner very friendly and helpful. good location and value. would recommend if looking for cheap and cheerful. Read more

Likes?
friendly and helpful, good value
Dislikes?
room a bit rough around the edges. bed hard.
4
fatih Young couple Stayed: May 11

good location, clean , friendly.i recommended this place to another holidaymakers.

it was a good stay Read more

Likes?
location , cleanless
Dislikes?
no
4
Rita Mature couple Stayed: Apr 11

Nice friendly place to stay with good breakfast to start the day.

We came to Paignton for a two night stay at the Sundale Hotel.We were made to feel welcome on arrival.Our room was very nice ,tidy and clean with provision for plenty of cups of tea and hot chocolate in the the room.The breakfast was nice and the surroundings homeley and pleasant. The Sundale is in Queens Road which is only five minutes from the sea front so you don't have to worry about driving unless your going outside Paignton. Read more

Likes?
The best thing about the hotel is it's homely relaxing atmosphere and position.
Dislikes?
No
5
graham Mature couple Stayed: Sep 10

clean&tidy

very pleasant Read more

Likes?
close to all ameneties
Dislikes?
no
4
Katie Young couple Stayed: Sep 10

great stay great service

my stay was very good with great service and a friendly welcome with helpful staff. Read more

Likes?
good service and friendly welcome and helpful and it hs a great location and good local atractions
Dislikes?
everthing was good
4
anthony Mature couple Stayed: Apr 10

value for money

pleasant Read more

Likes?
location
Dislikes?
room could have been a bit cleaner
4
Andrew Mature couple Stayed: Oct 09

Very good value for money.

Very good value. The decor could do with a makeover but it was clean and the service was friendly and helpful. Well stocked tea/coffee facilities in room + bathroom items in a basket. TV with loads of channels also fitted.
Breakfast was a little repetative but to be fair, we didn't ask for variations. Butter, rather than low fat spread, would have been appreciated for the toast too. Read more

Likes?
Convenience of location. Having a key enabled us to come and go at will too.
Dislikes?
The weakest part of the stay was the breakfast quality, it was adequate rather than wonderful.
4
Paul Young couple Stayed: Sep 09

No Headline Provided

Read more

Likes?
None
Dislikes?
None
3

The Sundale Information

Facilities

  • Lounge
  • Non-smoking (throughout)
  • On-site parking

Children's Facilities

  • Cots
  • Highchairs

Business Facilities

  • Internet connection (wireless)

Policies

  • Check in: 14:00 till 18:00
  • Early check-in available on request
  • Check out: 10:00
  • Child Policy: No preference
  • Pets: All pets

Description

The Sundale is a family-run guesthouse that is perfect for all groups and offers a friendly, relaxing holiday. There is central heating throughout. All bedrooms have hot and cold water, tea and coffee maker, shaver and power points, bedside lights, divan beds, continental quilts, clock and radio. Some rooms have en suite facilities. Guests have access to the Hotel at all times and there are no restrictions to spoil your holiday. You are sure to enjoy our English breakfasts and home-cooked dinners served at separate tables. Vegetarian and diabetic diets are catered for, but please let us know if you require them when booking. Packed lunches are available if you decide to picnic or take a coach tour. The Sundale Hotel is situated in a prime position on the level, with access within just a few minutes to all the favourite holiday amenities and town centre. There is something for everyone, from beautiful coastal walks for the more active, golden beaches for the children and discos for the young. Paignton seafront is just 200 yards level walk away. Within a few minutes walk lies Paignton Harbour with its fishing and boat trips, hire boats, etc; or you can visit the pier with all the traditional amusement facilities. Paignton Cricket and Rugby Club is just across the road and has two excellent bowling greens. In the evenings, there are discos, bars with live entertainment or the new multiplex cinema. The nearby bus and railway stations provide excellent services for you to explore the region is more detail.

On-site parking,

Booking Terms and Conditions

We use cookies. By continuing to use this site you are accepting our cookie policies.

Scroll to top